Dharma Beatdown

Chillin' by the Hell-realm water cooler.

Freedom, gratitude

You know, there was a time that I was not free.

Most people aren’t- but I am lucky in that to some measure I am free.

Worked hard today, and now it’s night.  The groceries are brought in, wife and daughter are tucked in bed.  So I’m a husband and father, but now- tonight?  What am I?  Well, tonight I am a composer.  There’s something amazing about being able to say that.  To be able to do that.

It’s because I was aware of the choice to be free that I escaped the clutches of despair.  So in gratitude, while I begin my musical work, I have lit an incense.  For the Tathagatha, who was willing to share what he discovered.  For that ol’ rugged dharma that I am fortunate enough to have found.  And of course for the sangha- not only the monastics who keep it precious and true, but my friends and fellow practitioners who are here in the world working diligently at salvation.  Peace out.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

